## **SECTION I. DEFINITIONS**

A. <u>University of Louisiana System</u>. The term "University of Louisiana System" or "System" when used in these bylaws shall refer to the system of campuses governed by the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System as contained in R.S. 17:3217 and, as amended through July 1, 2011, includes the following institutions:

Grambling State University at Grambling
Louisiana Tech University at Ruston
McNeese State University at Lake Charles
Nicholls State University at Thibodaux
Northwestern State University of Louisiana at Natchitoches
Southeastern Louisiana University at Hammond
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
University of Louisiana at Monroe (Revised 8/27/99)
University of New Orleans (12/3/2012)

- B. The Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System. The term "Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System" or "Board of Supervisors" as used in these bylaws shall refer to the governing board of the University of Louisiana System and shall be composed of the Board of Supervisors duly appointed and qualified as provided by law.
- C. <u>Members of the Board</u>. The Board of Supervisors is composed of two (2) members from each congressional district and three (3) members from the state-at-large who are all appointed by the governor with consent of the Senate, and who shall serve overlapping terms of six (6) years (La. Const., Art. 8, Sec. 6.B.). A vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of a term shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term by appointment by the governor, with h with h with 1(g)10(ove)4(rnor)6(, with h with h with 1(g)10(ove)4(rnor)6(, with s0(ove)4)